Skip to main content

Library Tutorials: Audio and Visual Resources

Films On Demand

New!  Films on Demand- Faculty can embed videos in ANGEL and students can support classroom learning. 

Title Segment

Off-campus access requires a GALILEO password.  See your library or instructor for details.

Video Resources

General

Your library has a video collection-- if you want to see the catalog's contents for videos of all subjects, which is the complete list in no particular order, click HERE.  Otherwise, click here to link to the catalog, and type in the subject for which you're searching on one line and the word "videorecording" on another.

  • The Khan Academy has videos to introduce many subjects, from college algebra and anatomy to art.  Check out their site, which features over 83,295,213 videos.

Citing and Finding Resources

  •  The Simon Fraser University Library has some really good information about citing and finding visual resources.  Click here to link.

Search for videos in the library

Your library has a video collection-- if you want to see the catalog's contents for videos of all subjects, which is the complete list in no particular order, click HERE.  Otherwise, click here to link to the catalog, and type in the subject for which you're searching on one line and the word "videorecording" on another.

Audio Resources

There are many sources for audio recordings and audio books.  Some of our favorites are categorized and listed below:

Music

The Internet Archive actually has more than just audio recordings; there are videos there, radio broadcasts, news reels, and much more.  Link to the internet archive's audio archive by clicking this link:  http://www.archive.org/details/audio

The National Jukebox contains over 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content is to be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.  Go to the National Jukebox, by the Library of Congress by clicking the link: http://www.loc.gov/jukebox/

Visit other Library of Congress audio recordings by clicking this link to the audio recordings from the American Memory Collection, here: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?format=Sound+Recording 

Speeches

Audio Books/Literature/Poetry

Audio book collections and poetry recordings from the Internet Archive can be found here, organized by different collections: http://www.archive.org/details/audio_bookspoetry 

Poets.org has a large collection of poetry read by authors, as well as a video collection.  Access that by clicking here: http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/361

Visual Arts & Images

  Athens Campus Library: 706.355.5020 | Elbert County: 706.213.2116  | Walton County: 706.552.0909 | Greene County: 706.453.0536
our Facebook page our Twitter account our Pinterest account our Youtube account
email: Library Webmaster