Skip to main content

ATC Archives: Newspaper clippings

Why should I use the database?

Newspaper articles in general can provide a useful source of information, serving as a primary source of information about historical and current events. Newspaper articles in the ATC database are a source of historical information about Athens Technical College and technical education in Georgia. 

You can learn

  • When, and how many times, did the name of the college change? How were the changes received?
  • Who are Athens Tech notables and what has been written about them? What did they do for the college?
  • What types of community relationships has the college had over the years?
  • How has technical education in Georgia changed over the years?
  • When were the various satellite campuses built?
  • What kind of relationships has Athens Tech had with local business?
  • How is Athens Tech preceived in the community?
  • How has Athens Tech promoted adult literacy?
  • and much, much more.

Information

What is this database?

This database is a finding aid for newspaper articles published about Athens Technical College, its employees, and topics related to technical education in general. The library has been clipping articles since the 1980's.

What years does the database cover?

1984- present

Can I get the full-text of these articles online?

These articles have not been digitized. If you would like to see an article, ask at the circulation desk, or e-mail Beth Thornton, bthornton@athenstech.edu

Do I need special software to use the database?

Currently you need to have MS Access on your computer in order to download and search the database. If you do not have Access, come into the library on any campus. Our computers have it.

What papers are in the database?

The database draws from the following newspapers:  Athens Banner Herald, Athens Daily News, Athens Observer, Elberton Star, Elbert County Examiner, Elbert Beacon, Danielsville Moniter, Commerce News, Hartwell Sun, Walton Tribune, Franklin County Citizen, Winder News, Herald-Journal, Madisonian, Atlanta Journal, News-Reporter, Oglethorpe Echo, Jackson Herald, Madisonian Free Press, Occonee Enterprise.

Athens Campus Library: 706.355.5020 | Elbert County: 706.213.2116  | Walton County: 706.552.0909 | Greene County: 706.453.0536
email: Library Webmaster

adobe logo This site links to pdf documents. Click this link to get Adobe reader