Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights library resources related to Medical Assisting. Visit each tab to find topic pages and additional content around your particular subject area.
Major GALILEO databases for medical assisting
Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
CINAHL Plus with full text
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source Nursing
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
Proquest Nursing and Allied Health
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).
Medline (at EbscoHost)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Research Library (Proquest)
Provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
Other helpful guides
One of your core classes is anatomy. Our Anatomy and Physiology, and medical terminology guides might be helpful to you. Also, you may check out and use models of body parts and systems to study in the library.
Prepare for medical assistant certification
Medical Assisting Periodicals for ATC
Athens Campus Library: 706.355.5020 | Elbert County: 706.213.2116 | Walton County: 706.552.0909 | Greene County: 706.453.0536
email: Library Webmaster
This site links to pdf documents. Click this link to get Adobe reader