Library: History: Primary sources

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
Proquest newspapers This link opens in a new window
Articles from major newspapers. Includes Atlanta Journal-Constitution, New York Times, Washington Post, and more.

Georgia Historic Newspaper Archive
provides digital access to many historical Georgia newspapers going back to the early 19th century (covereage dates vary). You can search the newspapers, browse by region or title, and more.
Chronicling America
Search American historical newspaper pages going back to 1836
UGA's Unified Newspaper Database
The earliest papers are being digitized; the latest papers are already online. There is a chunk of time in the middle where papers are not online. Chances are, you can find them on microfilm at UGA. Use the Unified Newspaper Database to find them.

Other primary sources

The Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints collection at the Library of Congress provides access to about 7,000 different views and portraits made during the American Civil War (1861-1865) and its immediate aftermath.

Library of congress digital collections include primary sources, images, maps, posters, sound recordings and more.

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project, non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Our rapidly-growing collection is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Cornell Making of American collection
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
UGA Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library
The Hargrett Library focuses on Georgia history and culture, holding rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, and UGA archives and records.