Library: History: Secondary Sources

Articles

GALILEO has several databases that include articles on History. A great place to start is:

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.

Also try:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Ebooks

EBSCO Ebooks (via GALILEO) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes academic eBooks on many subjects and topics.
eBook central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Researchers can find thousands of ebooks on many subjects.

Project Gutenberg
Over 60,000 free e-books.
Open textbooks
Open textbooks are typically authored by faculty and published on the web with the support of universities or new commercial companies. This new business model enables free online access to textbooks.

Discover search box

When you enter your search terms in the discover search box, you are searching multiple GALILEO databases at once. Your search might return articles, e-books, and videos.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection. To access these films off campus you will need to log in with your ATC email username and password.

Search Films on Demand