Skip to Main Content

National Library Week 2024: Home

In response to research conducted in the early 1950s that pointed to a decline in reading as a leisure activity, the American Library Association and the American Book Publishers banded together in 1954 to create the National Book Committee. The National Book Committee founded National Library Week in 1958 to raise awareness of the libraries and librarians who make literature and information accessible to all.

In his 1958 proclamation declaring the establishment of National Libraries Week, Dwight D. Eisenhower succinctly addressed the centrality of libraries to a free, American society: 

"Let National Library Week be a time for the appraisal of community needs for library services and of the means for meeting them, for encouraging the development of a better-read, better-informed citizenry, and for rededication to that fine public service that has always been characteristic of the libraries of America." -Proclamation 3226—National Library Week

Vintage NLW Posters

These vintage National Library Week posters are held by the American Library Association archives, maintained at the University of Illinois. 

By the numbers

Did you know?

  • The Guinness World Record for the smallest reproduction of a printed book is held by Malcolm Douglas Chaplin and Robert Chaplin for their book Teeny Ted from Turnip Town. It cost $15,000 to produce and is 70 micrometers by 100 micrometers, etched using an ion beam. It has an ISBN - ISBN-978-1-894897-17-4 - but you will need an electron microscope to read it.
  • The largest fine for an overdue library book was $345.15 - a woman had checked out a book of poetry from the Kewanee Public Library in Kewanee, Illinois in April of 1955. She returned it 47 years later. (Guinness World Records)

Your Local Public Library

Sign up for a library card at your public library!

A library card can give you access to free and reduced-cost entry to places like Zoo Atlanta, the Center for Puppetry Arts, the Georgia Aquarium, and more. Find your nearest public library here:

The Athens-Clarke County Library is located at 2025 Baxter Street, Athens GA 30601

The Elberton Public Library is located at 345 Heard Street, Elberton, GA  30635

The Monroe-Walton County Library is located at 217 W Spring St, Monroe, GA 30655

Books about libraries & collections!

Meg Medina - Honorary Chair

Newbery Award-Winning Author Meg Medina is the 2024 NLW Honorary Chair. She has published numerous books for young adults, including the 2019 Newbery Award winner Merci Suarez Changes Gears. She was also awarded a 2016 Belpre Honor for Mango, Abuela, and Me. To read more about Medina, or any other children/young adult authors, check out her biography in the Gale Literature Resource Center. This database has a wealth of information pertaining to literature reviews, author biographies, and wider topics in literature/English. It comes highly recommended as a first-stop for students in English courses! Click below to explore the Gale Literature Resource Center.

Athens Campus Library: 706.355.5020 | Elbert County: 706.213.2116  | Walton County: 706.552.0922 
email: Library Webmaster

adobe logo This site links to pdf documents. Click this link to get Adobe reader